An Exhibition

Duygu Tüntaş • 30

I guess 3 weeks ago, I’ve joined to an exhibition in MD1927, organised by Duygu Tüntaş named as 30. I don’t have very good knowledge about photography, but I need to admit that I was very amazed, the black and white photography composition was very succesful. After the exhibition I started focus on the aspects what makes a good photographer a good photographer, therefore what Duygu Tüntaş told in Mimarlar Derneği was very good experiment for me.

I want to mention a little bit more about the exhibition and the knowledge she thought us during the exhibition.

While taking photography, the camera and the optic lens are very important, but besides the technical devices, good shooting will take time. You might take the same zone several times until you find the best one, because the sunlight will change, even the people who pass that zone is different. She also mentioned that in one of the lectures, her teacher knew that she was very good at what she was doing, so because her teacher wanted Duygu Tüntaş become better at photography, she forced her more. So, taking a good shoot can sometimes be painful, but you cannot achieve it until you work very hard. Also, I guess editing a photo isn’t a bad thing unless you don’t change it all the way down. Playing with it a bit is OK. 🙂

File_001 (1).jpeg

File_001

The images I took from the exhibition aren’t high in quality, because I used my phones cam, however without any doubt Duygu Tüntaş’s photographs are amazing. My favorite ones were Manhattan from Brooklyn (2016) and Whitney Museum (2015). Unfortunately I don’t have them, but I need to say that the textural contrast created in Manhattan from Brooklyn took my attention and I found it very succesful, and the facade of Whitney Museum was taken as photograph, and as far as I remember, the facade was glass all the way down. So, because it contained four windows, somehow it was zoning four different parts of the museum.

I really liked her exhibition, she has been a good inspiration for me. You can also check her instagram account, she has lots of beautiful photographs there too.

Leave a Reply

