Pre Jury

In my previous post, I talked about the references  took and how I integrated them. In addition to all that, while I was preparing for my prejury, I wanted to break the prefect rectangular form I attained to the design. In the design, the interior spaces distinguish by the quality how inhabitants share that space: in some a space can by shared  by numerous amount of people, while in some a space can be experimented only by one individual.

One other project I refered to was Atrium House by Erkut Şahinbaş. I need to permit that I miss understood some points of this project and realised what was really happening after analyses I did after the prejury. So let me briefly explain what I had in my mind. Atruim House’s main concept of was to create a living environment within a large atrium. It brings the daily life outside. The courtyard gains a big importance at this stage. So, every space was opening to the atrium, however once one passes the entrance, he doesn’t have any choice of not experiencing the courtyard every time moving to one other  space. But I only considered courtyard as the common space, wasn’t really aware of the other situation I claimed. In my design, the courtyard was connected not to the terrace at the first floor from the inner house. The reason behind that approach is to empower the relations in between the nature and the man-made structure. Indeed, all the spaces were opening to the courtyard.

plan

Plan of ground floor and first floor

elevation

Elevations

section

Sections and Top view

One project I took reference from was the Wohnhaus am Hainer Weg. The house is placed on a narrow site, so there was the need of producing a slim building. It has a simple form with a slopped roof. The architect claims that they had a propaganda “House in the house.”, and this is provided by one other layer which surrounds the wooden cubic house. The situation was what I found really interesting in Wohnhaus am Hainerweg. Both concrete and wood is used, however concrete is covering the wooden house like a blanket. The inner garden, the roof, is very original approach. The ground of the roof garden is wood and it is covered with a concrete roof. The approach of creating an inner space which is also an outer space can be analysed and quoted to the project of mine. So, the concrete surface was creating an open space in between the hardwood. I took this spatial feature and used wooden stripes as external bliss from the top which also acts as a roof and specifies the terrace.

One other project I refered to was Atrium House by Erkut Şahinbaş. I need to permit that I miss understood some points of this project and realised what was really happening after analyses I did after the prejury. So let me briefly explain what I had in my mind. Atruim House’s main concept of was to create a living environment within a large atrium. It brings the daily life outside. The courtyard gains a big importance at this stage. So, every space was opening to the atrium, however once one passes the entrance, he doesn’t have any choice of not experiencing the courtyard every time moving to one other  space. But I only considered courtyard as the common space, wasn’t really aware of the other situation I claimed. In my design, the courtyard was connected not to the terrace at the first floor from the inner house. The reason behind that approach is to empower the relations in between the nature and the man-made structure. Indeed, all the spaces were opening to the courtyard.

One other housing project catched my attention was Town House project  by Edilgin Oscarson. In Town House, spaces were separated, from my point of view,  by circulation. If look based on circulation, let me say the bed room the second floor is the last space one will experience. Therefore, shared spaces are placed at the lower floor, where as the individual spaces where placed on top of the others. There is one space which creates a contrast to what I said and that space is the one which is detached from the rest, the studying room. In my design by taking reference from this project,  I reflected the idea of being individual space and being the last space to experience, to the spaces where people were spending time along.

 

Breaking the rectangular form was going anable one to experience and enrich newer relations both in the interior spaces and exterior spaces. So to do that I took references from few houses, just to be able to understand what does were going to provide.

Altair House is one of the very interesting houses. It is located in CAP-A-L’AIGLE and the construction finished in 2016.  The architects are Bourgeois/Lechasseur Architects. Altair means “The Flying Eagle” and what makes the house stand out is the V-shaped and long facades that are suspended over nature. It is isolated from the street and it has strong interconnection with the nature. It also is placed near a river, so the house has a beautiful view to depict. Also, the long glass façade enriches the visual relations acquired by framing the river in different perspectives. The living spaces on the second floor aren’t divided or separated with partition walls, so the spatial sense experienced when viewing the horizon without being interrupted is very special. The position of the decks and the terraces provide the inhabitants to experience a big variety of view. This is enriching the visual experiences.  Briefly, that V shaped plane not only provides lightness to the house and that flying sense, but also it enriches the visual experiences.

One other house very interesting is Minergie. Minergie is designed by Christian von Düring Architecte in Tannay. It is 257 square metre two blocked house. There connection is provided with both inner spaces and outer spaces. In design, this house looks very similar with Townhouse. In Townhouse, there was also two blocks and in between them there was a garden. Here, in Minergie in between two blocks there is a space for parking cars. However, the house has a strong interconnection with the nature. Maybe, this might be the reason behind of designing a parking rather than a garden. There is also again a similar approach seen in a parting the spaces where inhabitants spend time along, individually. The bedrooms were placed on the first floor, while spaces where people spend time together was arranged on the ground floor such as kitchen, living room and dining room. Placing the upper block perpendicular with the blocks beneath it enriches the visual relation in between the inner spaces, the house, and the nature, outer spaces. There is an approach of Le Corbusier’s long uninterrupted windows. These do not block the view, so it also empowers the visual connection. On the ground level the glass facade which are also working as doors are enabling both visual connection and move mantel experience. Because the two blocks on the ground level isn’t aligned, their positioning emerges opportunities of newer spatial relations.

For further information: Initial trials

Need to admit that in my design the references I refered was analysed focusing more on function and this was not enriching the spaces I had. So my next post is going to be mainly about empowering and enriching spatial qualities. Also, referring to the critics I had till today, my design should be more abstract.

Leave a Reply

