Initial trials

Last Tuesday I had my first pre jury, and I’m sorry to delay. I’ll be informing you about the process in 2 different post, one as Initial Trials and the other as Prejury preparation.

As you know from my previous post, I was studying several case studies to understand the spatial organisation. While making analyses about the spaces, circulation also started to gain importance. Meanwhile, I started to distinguish spaces, not calling them as private and public, but like “people where spent time individually” and “people where share time together”. Also need to claim that, I realised number of people and the profile of the living habitats were also important, however for now, we weren’t responsible of defining the background information of the owners of the house.

I had great interest towards tiny and narrow houses, thus those specific features gave a start to my design. My design, if we eliminate the gardenish courtyard, has a narrow shaped plan, however since that kind of elimination isn’t possible, I have to define the plan as a wide one.

coll.02

Elevation of my design

col.04_2.png

Floor plans and the top view

One other housing project catched my attention was Town House project  by Edilgin Oscarson. In Town House, spaces were separated, from my point of view,  by circulation. If look based on circulation, let me say the bed room the second floor is the last space one will experience. Therefore, shared spaces are placed at the lower floor, where as the individual spaces where placed on top of the others. There is one space which creates a contrast to what I said and that space is the one which is detached from the rest, the studying room. In my design by taking reference from this project,  I reflected the idea of being individual space and being the last space to experience, to the spaces where people were spending time along.

Town HouseSection_2

Section from the Town House

One other project I refered to was Atrium House by Erkut Şahinbaş. I need to permit that I miss understood some points of this project and realised what was really happening after analyses I did after the prejury. So let me briefly explain what I had in my mind. Atruim House’s main concept of was to create a living environment within a large atrium. It brings the daily life outside. The courtyard gains a big importance at this stage. So, every space was opening to the atrium, however once one passes the entrance, he doesn’t have any choice of not experiencing the courtyard every time moving to one other  space. But I only considered courtyard as the common space, wasn’t really aware of the other situation I claimed. In my design, the courtyard was connected not to the terrace at the first floor from the inner house. The reason behind that approach is to empower the relations in between the nature and the man-made structure. Indeed, all the spaces were opening to the courtyard.

coll.01

Elevations and sections

coll.03.png

Elevations and sections

One other project I took reference from was the Wohnhaus am Hainer Weg. The house is placed on a narrow site, so there was the need of producing a slim building. It has a simple form with a slopped roof. The architect claims that they had a propaganda “House in the house.”, and this is provided by one other layer which surrounds the wooden cubic house. The situation was what I found really interesting in Wohnhaus am Hainerweg. Both concrete and wood is used, however concrete is covering the wooden house like a blanket. The inner garden, the roof, is very original approach. The ground of the roof garden is wood and it is covered with a concrete roof. The approach of creating an inner space which is also an outer space can be analysed and quoted to the project of mine.

Wohnhaus am Hainer Weg

Wohnhaus am Hainerweg / JOP Architekten

Wohnhaus am Hainer Weg_02

Wohnhaus am Hainerweg / JOP Architekten

So, the concrete surface was creating an open space in between the hardwood. I took this spatial feature and used wooden stripes as external bliss from the top which also acts as a roof and specifies the terrace.

Leave a Reply

